Mass Transit Announces its Top 40 Under 40 List

Oct 3, 2009

Source: Mass Transit

Honors under-40 professionals who have contributed to the transit industry

Mass Transit Magazine cover - Top 40 Under 40

FORT ATKINSON, Wis., Sept. 22 /PRNewswire/ -- Mass Transit, the only magazine exclusively dedicated to public transportation, announces the first annual Mass Transit Top 40 Under 40 list, honoring those professionals who have made significant contributions to the public transit industry. Honorees were nominated by their peers and judged on criteria that included job commitment, industry involvement and contribution, achievement in his or her position and innovation in his or her field.

"Millions of people utilize public transportation every year, relying on it to transport them to work, school, social and sporting activities," says Publisher John Hollenhorst. "The individuals chosen for this year's list have been stand outs in their respective areas and show a strong passion and commitment that exemplifies the best of the best."

"We received more than 150 nominations and could easily have extended the list," adds Editor Fred Jandt. "It was challenging to narrow it down, but we are confident that this exclusive Mass Transit Top 40 Under 40 list is made up of professionals who are not only extremely deserving of this honor, we expect they will continue to play a significant role in public transport for decades to come."

Winners will be showcased in the September/October cover feature of Mass Transit magazine and online at

Mass Transit magazine serves more than 21,000 readers associated with the public transportation industry including transit managers, industry suppliers and industry associations. It is the only publication that focuses on the people who manage the business and their successful management practices. The publication's editorial content provides subscribers with management, marketing, operational and product information they need to better manage transit systems and overcome the changes in today's environment.

Mass Transit and are published by Cygnus Business Media, an internationally-recognized business-to-business media company. Its diverse portfolio serves 13 market categories with print and interactive products, and live events. Through its media, the company reaches more than 1.5 million print subscribers, nearly 1 million industry professionals via its Custom Marketing services group, and attracts 2 million unique visitors to its websites monthly. Cygnus Business Media provides comprehensive, integrated advertising and marketing programs for some of the world's strongest business-to-business brands. For more information, visit Cygnus Business Media (

(Mass Transit 40 Under 40 List follows)

Mass Transit 40 Under 40 List 2009

  • Mona Babauta, Santa Rosa CityBus
  • Jayme Blakesley, Federal Transit Administration
  • James A. Bradford, Jr., CT Transit
  • Carrie Butler, Transit Authority of River City
  • Ricardo Cardentey, Parsons Brinckerhoff
  • Dr. Floun'say Caver, Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority
  • Kevin R. Collins, HDR Engineering Inc.
  • Brandi Kelly-Contreras, City of Huntington Beach
  • Denis Desmond, San Diego Metropolitan Transit System
  • Richard H. Farr, York County Transportation Authority
  • Russ Frank, Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County
  • Brian Funk, Metro Transit (Minneapolis, Minn.)
  • Lori Oakley Gale, Fast Lane Hires
  • John Giorgis, Federal Transit Administration
  • Joshua J. Goldman, Porterra LLC
  • Christopher Hart, Institute for Human Centered Design/MBTA Consultant
  • Hunter Harvath, Monterey-Salinas Transit
  • Curvie Hawkins Jr., The T (Fort Worth, Texas)
  • Monique Pegues, The T (Fort Worth, Texas)
  • John L. Hendrickson, Waco Transit System/McDonald Transit
  • Albert Himes, Alexandria Transit Co.
  • Jennifer Kalczuk, The Rapid (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
  • Sherry E. Little, Spartan Solutions LLC
  • Adam Martin, American Public Transportation Association
  • Karl R. Otterstrom, Spokane Transit Authority
  • Christopher Phelps, Green Bay Metro/First Transit
  • Todd Provost, Utah Transit Authority
  • Christine Romans, Maryland Transit Administration
  • Iyon Rosario, Federal Transit Administration
  • Carol Rose, STV Inc.
  • Steve Sarafinovski, Go Transit
  • Julia Schick, Laketran
  • Dave Schlesinger, USDOT, Transportation Safety Institute
  • Jacqueline Sheader, Centre Area Transportation Authority
  • Steve Sherrer, Lawton Area Transit System
  • Jason Tubergen, Muskegon Area Transit System
  • Vicky Vargas, Foothill Transit/Veolia
  • Amber Wagner, North Carolina Public Transportation Association
  • Sara Procacci Wilson, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority
  • Matthew Yamashita, Mobility Plus Transportation